Research Fellows 2021

Ikerbasque - the Basque Foundation for Science, launched in 2021 a call offering 20 Research Fellow positions for postdoctoral researchers. These five year Fellowships are directed to promising young researchers; they are intended to offer a track towards a PI role and independent research. The selected Fellows should be able to acquire the necessary skills for a research leader role in the future.

In this occasion, more than 40 independent external evaluators from 14 different countries participated in the evaluation process, under the coordination of the Ikerbasque Scientific Advisory Committee.

Ikerbasque endorses the European Charter for Researchers. Ikerbasque improves the career evaluation methods in order to create a more transparent, open, equal and internationally accepted system of recruitment.

114 full eligible applications were screened by our external evaluators, coordinated by the Ikerbasque Scientific Advisory Committee. The evaluation committee has short-listed 20 applications (18%) with over 85 points out of the possible 100 points, based on:

  • Scientific merit and research track
  • Interest of the Research Statement provided in the application
  • Relevance of research topic and latest publications
  • Concordance with Basque research capabilities

This 2021 call has already been evaluated and these are the selected Research Fellows (ordered by last name's alphabetical order):

Abascal Guillermo The Institute of Cancer Research Biofisika Institutua
Arruabarrena Amaia CIC bioGUNE CIC bioGUNE
Astiz Mariana University of Lübeck Achucarro
Barbuscia Anna University of Lausanne UPV/EHU
Bengoa Nora Oxford University Achucarro
Fernández Maria Dolores Universitat Politècnica de València Univ. Deusto
Labernadie Anna Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (IBEC) Biofisika Institutua
Manzano Pablo University of Helsinki BC3
Milowska Karolina University of Cambridge CIC nanoGUNE
Ochoa Héctor Columbia University DIPC
Olalde Iñigo Universidad Pompeu Fabra UPV/EHU
Ortega Gabriel University of California Santa Barbara CIC bioGUNE
Peñalba Markel Mondragon Unib. Mondragon Unib.
Pinet Swetlana BCBL BCBL
Reta Daniel University of Manchester UPV/EHU
Rujas Edurne UPV/EHU UPV/EHU
Ruzzoli Manuela University of Glasgow BCBL
Sánchez Cano Carlos CIC biomaGUNE DIPC
Smirnov Ilya KTH Royal Institute of Technology BCAM
Tsirkin Stepan University of Zurich CFM-MPC

For additional information about the evaluation of your application, please log in our website ( with your username and check the report.

If you wish to check Research Fellows selected in previous calls, please refer to Researchers section in our website.