About us

Governing Board

Ikerbasque's Governing Board is the top managing committee of the Institution, and it is formed by:

  • The Minister of Education of the Basque Government
  • The Viceminister of Universities & Research of the Basque Government
  • The Science Policy Director of the Basque Government
  • One Provincial Deputy of each Basque Provincial Council
  • The President of Innobasque, the Basque Innovation Agency
  • Up to seven people, designated by the Board, who are reknown for their contribution to Science in the Basque Country.

Scientific Director

The Board appointed Fernando P. Cossío as Scientific Director of Ikerbasque.

Board members

At the moment, the Governing Board of Ikerbasque is formed by:

  • Cristina Uriarte Toledo (Minister of Education - Basque Government)
  • Adolfo Morais Ezquerro (Viceminister of Universities & Research - Basque Government)
  • Amaia Esquisabel Alegría (Director for Research - Basque Government)
  • Izaskun Artetxe García (Innovation & Economic Promotion Deputy - Provincial Council of Bizkaia)
  • Ainhoa Aizpuru Murua (Economic Promotion, Rural Enviroment & Regional Policy Deputy - Provincial Council of Gipuzkoa)
  • Pilar García de Salazar Olano (Economic Development & Regional Policy Deputy - Provincial Council of Álava/Araba)
  • Alberto García Erauzkin (President of Innobasque)
  • Edorta Cobreros Mendazona (Administrative Law Professor, UPV/EHU)
  • Ricardo Díez Muiño (Research Scientist at Centro de Física de Materiales, CSIC-UPV/EHU)
  • Rosa Hernández Martín (Pharmacy Professor, UPV/EHU)
  • Itziar Laka Mugarza (Basque Philology Professor, UPV/EHU)
  • Juan Ignacio Pérez Iglesias (Phisiology Professor, UPV/EHU)
  •  Alfonso Unceta Satrustegi (Professor of Sociology, UPV/EHU)