Research Fellows 2022

Ikerbasque - the Basque Foundation for Science, launched in 2022 a call offering 20 Research Fellow positions for postdoctoral researchers. These five year Fellowships are directed to promising young researchers; they are intended to offer a track towards a PI role and independent research. The selected Fellows should be able to acquire the necessary skills for a research leader role in the future.

In this occasion, more than 170 independent external evaluators from 25 different countries participated in the evaluation process, under the coordination of the Ikerbasque Scientific Advisory Committee.

Ikerbasque endorses the European Charter for Researchers. Ikerbasque improves the career evaluation methods in order to create a more transparent, open, equal and internationally accepted system of recruitment.

118 full eligible applications were screened by our external evaluators, coordinated by the Ikerbasque Scientific Advisory Committee. The evaluation committee has short-listed 20 applications (17%) with over 85 points out of the possible 100 points, based on:

  • Scientific merit and research track
  • Interest of the Research Statement provided in the application
  • Relevance of research topic and latest publications
  • Concordance with Basque research capabilities

This 2022 call has already been evaluated and these are the selected Research Fellows (ordered by last name's alphabetical order):

Ion Andreu Tecnun Biofisika
Magdalena Bobowik Utrecht University UPV/EHU
Iván Carcamo Stanford School of Medicine Biocruces Bizkaia
Nerea Casado Polymat Polymat
Daniel Conde UPM UPV/EHU
Lucrezia Cosetti Karlsruhe Institute of Technology UPV/EHU
Irene De Lázaro Harvard University CIC biomaGUNE
Isabel Donoso CSIC-UIB BC3
Robert Grand Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias DIPC
Noemí Jiménez University of Geneva UPV/EHU
Beatriz Martín García CIC nanoGUNE CIC nanoGUNE
Tomás Neuman Institut des Sciences Moléculaires d'Ossay (ISMO) Materials Physics Center - MPC
Roberta Rutigliano University of Groningen UPV/EHU
Olli Saari University of Bonn UPV/EHU
Federico Soria UPV/EHU Achucarro
Beatriz Trastoy Biocruces Bizkaia Biocruces Bizkaia
Luca Unione CIC bioGUNE CIC bioGUNE
Iñigo Urteaga Columbia University BCAM
Peio Zuazo Higher School of Economics (Moscow) UPV/EHU

For additional information about the evaluation of your application, please log in our website ( with your username and check the report.

If you wish to check Research Fellows selected in previous calls, please refer to Researchers section in our website.